Capital Thimpu

Geography - Total Area 47,000 square kilometers (18, 147 square miles). Located in the eastern Himalayas, Bhutan is bordered by China in the north and the Indian States of Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Assam and West Bengal in the east, west and south.

Altitude 300 mtrs (984 ft.) in the south to 7300 mtrs (23,950 ft.) in the north

Population 600, 000 (1991 census)

People Except for the southern lowlands which are inhabited by the Lhotshampas, people of Nepalese origin, the rest of the county has Mongoloid descent.

A Monarchy system of government headed by his Majesty King Jigme Singye Wangchuk, the fourth monarch of Bhutan. He is assisted by the cabinet comprising his ministers and head officials.

Religion Drukpa sect of the Kagyudpa religious school is the official religion of the country. Hinduism is practiced in the southern part of the country.

Climate and Season Bhutan has four distinct season, spring, monsoon, autumn and winter. Spring and autumn is the best time to visit.

Best Time to visit April to May and September to December.

Economy - Mainly agricultural, hydropower, forestry and livestock. The fastest growing sectors are industry, trade, production and mining. Tourism, Druk Air and stamps are some important source of foreign exchange.

Language Dzongkha is the national language of the country. English is the medium of instruction and is spoken by almost everybody. Nepali is widely spoken in the south. Sharchokpa in the east and Bumthangkha and Khyengkha in the central region.

Time Bhutan is 06 hrs ahead of GMT and half an hour ahead of India.

Money Bhutan unit of currency is the Ngultrum (Nu), with 100 Chetrum = 1 Ngultrum. The Ngultrum is fixed to the value of Indian Rupee.

Electricity Officially 220 volts but may (sometimes) fluctuates from 150 volts to 300 volts.

National Animal Takin

National Bird Raven

National Tree Cypress

National Flower Blue Poppy